There’s a certain level of discretion to be taken when dressing your children. Now, I don’t have kids or anything, but this seems like it should really be a commonly known fact. I used to keep my fingers crossed for my older sister to outgrow her Care Bears spandex when I was a kid, so I sure as hell wasn’t wearin’ no Chanel. I think my mother would have let me go to preschool naked before she sent me in couture.

Now, Angelina Jolie, on the other hand…

jolie.jpg

This was taken a while ago, but I think it’s an issue that needs to be addressed. Zahara is a cute kid, really. She’s totally got that whole my-parents-are-Brad-Pitt-and-Angelina-Jolie thing going on, which means that she has already secured herself as cooler (and God knows richer) than all of us for the rest of her life.

So, can someone tell me why her mother (who, by the way, is well-known for making out with her brother on the red carpet and wearing a vial of blood around her neck) feels the need to supplement her child’s adorable-ness with a Valentino bag? Yes, Angelina, we get that you’re super rich and super fabulous. And trust me, if I was worth bizillions, I’d probably use Valentino toilet paper.

But, your kid is TWO-YEARS-OLD if that, Angie. She doesn’t know the difference between Valentino and Goodwill. Take advantage of that while you still can.

Now, this is what I’m talkin’ about:

urban1.jpg

If my child is half that cute and fabulous, I’ll consider mine a job well done. I stumbled upon this little cowgirl in Urban Outfitters at South Point a couple of weeks ago, and believe me, she was ready to have her photo taken.

Hm, a Carolina blue fleece, houndstooth skirt and cowboy boots? A daring move, young lady, but I applaud thee. I wouldn’t have thought to combine the three, but you’ve done a fantastic job, if I do say so myself. And I highly doubt that ensemble broke her p-rents’ bank.

If I recall, I once went to school in a white and gold tutu and roller skates.

I’m pretty sure they were hand-me-downs.

